Reeking Aura - Beneath the Canopy of Compost (Tape)


This product is sold out

NY/NJ based triple guitar Death/Doom group REEKING AURA is proud to announce the independent release of their debut 3 song EP “Beneath the Canopy of Compost”, featuring production by Colin Marston (Gorguts, Dysrhythmia) and art by Jonzig (Deeds of Flesh, Defeated Sanity).
Originally conceived as a collaboration between guitarists Ryan Lipynsky (Unearthly Trance, Serpentine Path) and Rick Habeeb (Grey Skies Fallen, Buckshot Facelift), the group eventually grew to include vocalist William Smith (Artificial Brain, Afterbirth, Buckshot Facelift) and drummer Keith Harris (Afterbirth). With the addition of guitarist Terrell Granum (Thaetas, Buckshot Facelift) and bassist Tom Anderer (Grey Skies Fallen, Buckshot Facelift) the “wall of sound” approach to death metal was complete.
Inspired by lost civilizations and the powerplay between nature and humanity, “Beneath the Canopy of Compost” is a fine-tuned monster of dirgy, doom inspired classic death metal by seasoned musicians who all speak the same cryptic language.
The six friends found time between commitments to their other bands to begin feverishly writing and rehearsing material in the summer of 2019 and tracked the songs with Colin Marston in February 2020, shortly before the ongoing global health crisis would have made doing so more complicated or not possible at all.